Today I spent hours at the Health Department and if you've ever been there you know it's no fun. Trying to get a little help raising two little ones and coming out empty handed is no fun either. We're not looking for hand outs just a hand up and these days I know everyone could use the help. Evidentally, if you make a paycheck...one that requires you to actually be there more than 3 hours a day, the state thinks this is more than enough to raise children on and be alright. I was actually told that maybe I shouldn't work! Now isn't that hilarious coming from the same people who preach that everyone should find work to support themselves. It's a crazy thing. Work and barely be able to afford the food or don't work and get free food but not be able to pay for the electricity. MMMMM...let me see..I don't think so. I so want to be a stay at home mom...or maybe a part-timer, but when you lay down that paycheck and realize that you won't have it anymore...it's hard to say that could be the right choice to make. I want to teach one day and it'd be nice to be able to finish my degree in the next couple of years and then go to teaching and we'd back and above where we are now...but it's making those sacrifices from now til then that's causing the conflict.
Oh what to do, what to do...for now though until we can agree..I'll keep pluggin away at the job that the state says pays way more than enough and see what happens.
Wednesday, November 4, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
